I can sew. A little.

Here it is.  The first article of clothing that I have ever sewn.  I bought three patterns a while ago when they were on sale at Joann’s for $2 each on whim, and then bought some black cotton fabric on clearance last week when I went to Joann’s again for something else and just had to look in the clearance section.  I have learned a lot about the process of sewing, how to read a pattern correctly and make all the right markings and notches. I also made a lot of mistakes along the way but just kept on going anyway.  For example, I had to sew all the gathering stitch lines at least twice since I broke them while trying to cinch up the gathers. Let’s just say I have gotten comfortable with ripping out a seam that is not quite right.  I did not follow the pattern perfectly, and I even altered the angle on the side seams to make it fit better.  But overall, not bad for my first attempt!!

Leave a Reply

