Bjorn Wiinblad.

Last week I posted about the crazy cool Art in America magazine from 1969 featuring Alexander Calder that I found at a used book store.  Now I am sharing the art that hangs in my living room that I found at a thrift store one day many years ago that I mentioned in that post.

Bjorn Wiinblad was a Danish painter and artist.  He was not on my radar before I found this print at a thrift store. It took me forever to figure out the signature on the left side to find out the artist, but I have always loved this poster. We tried searching the internet for different names and finally hit on his name.  I remember when I was buying it I was not sure if John would like it as much as I do. But since he loves music, he loved it right away too. It has been hanging in our living room ever since.

At the same time I also found this Alexander Calder lithograph.  It was originally in a red-orange frame, but I broke the glass the last time we moved and had to buy a new frame.  That is when I was amazed to find out it was an actual lithograph, signed in the plate, and not just a poster. So exciting to have found two such nice pieces of art at a thrift store.

I just have to mention here that it has been years since I found anything this cool at a thrift store.  There are just not as many good thrift stores in Dallas as there used to be and the ones that are left don’t have the cool finds that they used to have.  I think Ebay and Craigslist means that people sell their own stuff instead of donating it these days.

2 thoughts on “Bjorn Wiinblad.

  1. Kathy Randall says:

    I found the same picture framed at St. Vincent DePaul thrift store in New York. I don’t know if it is a photocopy, lithograph or watercolor. Mine is small, the artwork only measures 7″x4″.

    1. lmdudley says:

      My print, which is is 22″ x 32″, is still in the same purple frame that it came in so I have no idea if it’s a poster or a lithograph either. Probably a poster! The paper backing of the framing is a little water damaged so I have never opened it up all the way to see the actual condition, I just hung it on the wall!

Leave a Reply

