Who Wants Candy?

Yesterday was candy day!  The old-fashioned creamy peanut patties turned out okay, but I stirred them just a minute too long and some of them look dry on the outside.  They still taste good, but don’t look all shiny and pretty like they are supposed to. You have to stir and stir and stir and stir and then oops that was too much.  That’s how candy making goes, you can’t do it perfect every time until you have done it for years is what I am learning.

I also made Butter Pecan Toffee.  That turned out perfect.  It makes so much that I have this entire tin, and I sent another small tin to work with John today, and we still have a little left over to eat over the next week.

Aren’t the tins cute?  I found them yesterday when I had to run to Michael’s to get some red gel food coloring for the peanut patties, as they MUST be pink!  So that worked out well because I had not found any cute tins this year yet and did not know what I was going to do with all the candy I was making.

The book the candy recipes came from is called, Who Wants Candy? by Jane Sharrock.  I found it a few years ago when I decided that I must learn how to make home-made candy for the holidays!  The recipes are for all different levels, easy beginner recipes and then more advanced recipes for when you get a feel for candy making. Making candy is fun, but it is tricky and does not always turn out.  You just have to jump in and make it and then enjoy it even if it is not visually perfect, because it usually tastes good, and even just throw it out if it fails completely.

Today I am planning on making a pan of home-made caramels.  I don’t know yet whether I will dip some of them in chocolate, I’ll just have to wait and see if they turn out……  and tomorrow I am roasting savory and sweet nuts.

That’s it, I think that is all I am going to make….. until next week at least!!

Leave a Reply

