Holiday Decor 2011.

This year, with the exception of my enormous tree, all the other holiday decor is pretty simple. I still love my huge artificial tree!  I am also happy that I was able to acquire a lot of vintage inspired multi-colored ornaments during the first few years of buying ornaments for the tree, as well as a bunch of single color glass ornaments on clearance at Target after Christmas the last few years. I always do multi-colored lights and ornaments with silver accents. You would be surprised how hard it is to find silver rather than gold accented ornaments, but it is getting easier these last few years. Maybe one day I will change it up, but for now I am still happy with the theme.

I found the bottle brush tree set for the mantle in a set at Big Lots, and painted the bases red with some craft paint so they would stand out on the white mantle, and be a simple element to show off the wreath. I bought the huge pine cones behind the fireplace screen at Hobby Lobby, not really knowing what to do with them, but I think they look great back there.  I wanted to add one more element to the mantle decor, so I designed and hand cut a paper “Happy Holidays” banner to add a little more holiday cheer. To the right of the fireplace screen, I brought out my vintage hand-me-down red plaid lunch box and put in a few old Christmas books from my childhood that my Mom had given me last year.

Close up shot of the new wreath:

Close up shot of the paper banner:

On my dining room table, I used the white felt ruffle trees that I made last year, with the vintage snowman/snowgirl musical decoration that winds up to play Dashing Through the Snow (and it still works, but plays very slowly now!). I added the two little plastic reindeer that my Mom also gave me last year, as I have been relieving my Mom of some of her vintage holiday decor for several years now little by little!

Close up shot of how cute the snowman and snowgirl are:

There is also one more vintage element, the plastic Santa sleigh and reindeer on top of the bookcase.  The santa sleigh lights up and the reindeer attach with a metal wire, and it is another of the decorations that I grew up with that my Mom gave me. I now have everything that I want from the decorations that I grew up with and get to enjoy them for years to come in my own home. Maybe one day soon I can convince my mom to give me all of my childhood pictures of me taken with Santa.  They are hilarious and I would love to have them one day.  Happy Holidays everyone!

Leave a Reply

