Wire and Air.

We went to the Amon Carter Museum on Saturday to see the American Vanguards exhibition and it was fabulous. We want to see it again before it leaves in August. As we left the exhibition, there was a wall of portraits with an Alexander Calder sculpture of a wire head hanging there among other portraits.

I felt lucky to capture this image with my iPhone of the shadow perfectly reflecting the sculpture against the wall. It moved just a few seconds later to a different position and turned around completely before I could even read who the head was fashioned after.

I feel that Calder could see this shadow in his mind as he was bending the wire, that he intuitively knew exactly how to bend the wire to make a perfect reflection without a second thought. So amazing.

Right outside the entrance to the main exhibition was another Calder mobile. This quick snapshot of the mobile is not so great, but I loved the shadows it captured on the walls.

Right as I was taking this picture, the museum docent walked over to speak to me, and of course I thought I was getting into trouble for taking the photo. But no, he wanted to tell me that every morning when he enters that room the sculpture is in a different position and it was fascinating to him that it moves so much and the light hits it so differently at all angles. He truly appreciated the mobile.

We also went to see the Lucian Freud: Portraits exhibition at the Modern Art Museum. It was okay, but we did not love it. I felt like his early work was just amazing, a combination of realism and surrealism that was really let you see into the window of the person he was painting.

The way he painted the eyes especially captured the sparkle of life of the person in the portrait. And then as the years went on his work just lost something for me, like his paintings style showed almost a disdain for the subject in a way that I cannot quite define. But I am glad I went to see it, it’s always fascinating to see how an artist’s work changes throughout their life, for better or worse.

Leave a Reply

