Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Walnut Cinnamon Cookies.

How’s your summer going? My summer has just flown by in a whoosh. I haven’t been blogging very much since I have not been doing too much that was noteworthy.

Baked a few things that did not turn out very well (it happens!) so not really worth writing about. Read a few books one right after the other. Had lots of work projects to keep up with (good thing!). Started a needlepoint project and promptly realized I had chosen the wrong fabric and had to start over (ugh!). Drank lots of orange/pineapple juice based cocktails to survive the heat while watching lots of TV. Signed up for a calligraphy class by a teacher that is internationally recognized for her skills (exciting!).

So there, I think we are all caught up and can talk about these cookies:

Yummy chewy oatmeal cookies!  I always over bake cookies by just a little and they turn out crunchy, but not this time. You will notice that they are not very browned on top, and that must be the key for a chewy cookie. Well, that and lots of butter!

I always like to add a generous half a teaspoon of cinnamon to my oatmeal cookies, I think it gives it a nice depth of flavor, a warm flavor note in the background. Also, I don’t hate raisins in cookies like I used to, but I still prefer using milk chocolate chips instead in my oatmeal cookies. I think I might try a batch of oatmeal cookies with dried sour cherries and pecans next. I love dried sour so much after buying some for a granola recipe, I almost could not stop myself from eating them all before I made the granola!

Chewy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Cookies
Adapted from Nick Malgieri’s Cookies Unlimited

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 cups rolled oats (regular oatmeal)
2 sticks butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 ounces coarsely chopped walnuts or pecans
8 ounces milk chocolate chips, or semi-sweet if you prefer

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, oatmeal and stir well to mix.
  3. In the bowl of a standing mixer, beat the butter and sugars together. Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until smooth.
  4. Lower the mixer speed and add the flour and oatmeal mixture until almost all mixed.
  5. Then add nuts and chips and combine until all the flour mixture is incorporated.
  6. Drop tablespoons onto cookie sheets lined with parchment paper and flatten the mounds with the back of a fork.
  7. Bake the cookies for around 15 minutes, checking and turning the pan at around 8 minutes.
  8. Do not let them get to brown on top, you want to get these out of the oven right as the edges start to brown and the cookie is set, that way they stay perfectly chewy.
  9. Cool the cookies briefly on the cookie sheet and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before storing.
Leave a Reply

