The Best All-American Apple Pie.

On Saturday I finally made John an apple pie.

And not just any apple pie, but “The Best All-American Apple Pie” from The Pie and Pastry Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum.  The pie recipe called for the Flaky Cream Cheese Pie Crust, so I made that on Friday night so that it would be chilled and ready to work with on Saturday.

Before baking:Pie_Before

And after:

Pie_After

I might have over baked the crust just a little, I waited a little too long to put on the foil pie crust shield that I had made, but other than that it turned out pretty great. The recipe said to make five slits into the crust before baking, so I just had to take that one step further and use a cookie cutter to make a little heart pattern instead, so much more cute!

John has wanted an apple pie for a long time but since I am more of a cake and/or cookie person, that is what I usually bake. After seeing the work it took to put together a pie, he said he understood why I enjoy baking other things more, that pie seemed like a lot of work in comparison. I agreed! But I was still happy to make this pie for him, it was worth the effort!  He is very pleased I finally made him pie and he said it tasted great too.

Success!!

Leave a Reply

