Baby Shower Gift.

Baby_DSC06219

I knit a trio of items for a friend’s baby shower on Sunday. A bolero style baby sweater with an eyelet motif on the back, a beanie hat, and a pair of baby booties with pompom on the toes. Because don’t baby booties require pompoms?!

The pattern book says that according to Eastern folklore, the eyelet motif brings luck and protection to the wearer, not matter his or her size. I think that was the deciding factor on what to knit for the new baby when I was searching through my books for baby patterns. I am happy it turned out so cute.

A close up of the eyelet:
Eyelet_DSC06214

The sweater pattern is from the book One Skein: 30 Quick Projects to Knit or Crochet.
The hat pattern is from Stitch ‘N Bitch: The Knitter’s Handbook.
The booties pattern is from Bernat. I modified it a little by cutting out a few rows  in the stockinette decrease section of the pattern because the first time I knit them they turned out too large so I knit them again and they worked out great. Sign-up required to access the free patterns on their site.

I saw some really beautiful new yarns at Michaels when I was picking up this baby yarn, it was by Vickie Howell/Caron and even though it’s a 70% acrylic/30% wool yarn, it had a really wonderful texture, so soft, and came in a really nice rich jewel tone color palette. I’ll have to pick a new pattern to knit now, I need a new sofa knitting project!

Leave a Reply

