Hello, Nice to See You Again!

Sunset_11_13

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been over two months since I posted anything here! The past two months have been about work and that’s about it. I have not done much baking, no crafting or really much of anything except work almost around the clock.

I took this shot of the sunset from the passenger seat of the car on the way back from my parents home in rural East Texas on Thanksgiving weekend. I think it turned out really well since it was taken through a dirty windshield while flying down the highway! The horizon line is so flat with just a few trees, you can only capture that wide open sunset outside of an urban area.

The only thing I have baked recently is a huge batch of knotted yeast rolls for Thanksgiving. They are easy to make and always turn out so well! I took 36 rolls to my parents house for Thanksgiving and all my nephews gobbled them up and only one was left over for my Mom, so she hid it for later! Next year I should try to make two batches and have some extras left over since they freeze so well.

I can’t believe it’s already December 3rd! In just a few weeks we will be ringing in a New Year. The time, it flies!

 

Holiday Yeast Rolls
Makes approximately 4 dozen rolls

Combine in a large bowl:
2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 packages dry yeast

Heat 1 stick of butter and add 1 3/4 cup milk until very warm, add to dry ingredients.

Beat 2 minutes with a mixer.

Add 2 eggs and 1 cup flour.  Beat 2 min.

Stir in by hand enough flour to make stiff dough (about 2 cups)

Pour onto floured cloth and knead a few times until the dough comes together well.

Let dough rest 25 minutes.

Roll out dough into small portions and twist into knots.
(for instructions on knotting, search YouTube for how to make knotted rolls)
Place on sheet pans lined with parchment paper and brush generously with melted butter.

Cover and allow to rise 1 1/2 hours.

Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

