French Macarons.

French_Macaron_Stack

I finally made a successful batch of French macarons! It’s so exciting to have finally conquered this baking challenge.

I used the recipe and followed the steps in the March 2014 issue of Martha Stewart Living. The one with all the colorful macarons on the cover. I recently purchase a new food processor and just had to try it out using this recipe. I got a new Cuisinart on clearance at Macy’s and it’s so much nicer than my over ten-year old cheap-o food processor I had been using so long that the blade was dull! I am convinced the new food processor made these turn out so great because I was able to grind those almonds really well.

If you follow the step-by-step instructions, and have everything measured out and ready to go before you start, it really makes the whole process pretty easy. I did a plain almond with a touch of vanilla extract cookie with a semi-sweet chocolate ganache for the filling. I had made macarons before using a different recipe and a bag of almond meal that was really expensive, and they did not turn out very well. Using inexpensive slivered blanched almonds and grinding them in the food processor made for a better fresh almond taste that is so perfect!

They look a little messy, but taste oh-so-amazing! You can find the instructions here on the Martha Stewart website.

French_Macaron_Box

2 thoughts on “French Macarons.

Leave a Reply

